Research Development Grants for BIPOC Scholars

SHARP is committed to enhancing the presence of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color in its community and to supporting the progression of BIPOC scholars in their academic and research careers. In order to support training and career development, and in a desire to respond actively to the issues of racism and under-representation, SHARP offers 5 grants of US$1,000 each year to support projects by BIPOC scholars.

Research support for this grant could include, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Defraying the cost of travel to conduct research or present research in progress
  • Development of future scholarly activities
  • Equipment, software, database subscriptions, or other resources essential for research
  • Help towards open access publishing costs
  • Initial project planning and development
  • Professional development courses/workshops

Recipients will be expected to provide a report of approximately 500–750 words within a month of completing their project or reaching a major project milestone (within 12 months of receiving the award). The report will be published in SHARP News. Please note that awardees must provide receipts and/or invoices for amounts paid from the award. Awards will be paid via PayPal, and will include free membership during the year of the grant.


We are currently accepting applications for awards to be used starting on July 1, 2024. The deadline for all applications has been extended to March 25, 2024.

Selection criteria

Applicants will be selected based on the overall strength of their application and personal statement. Awardees will be selected by a panel based on:

  • A personal statement and overview of the research to be undertaken
  • A broad outline of the research expenses for which the award funds will be used, including a preliminary budget listing estimated costs for specific anticipated expenses

Application process

All applications should go through our online application form. In order to be eligible for this award, applicants must:

  • Self-identify as a Black, Indigenous, or Person of Color
  • Conduct research within the broad field of Book History

Previous awardees


  • Cora Anthony (University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign)
  • Herdiana Hakim (Sampoerna University)
  • Sonali Kulkarni (Tilburg University)
  • Dominique Polanco (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
  • Jeania Ree V. Moore (Yale University)


  • DeLisa D. Hawkes (University of Tennessee)
  • Amber Khan (University of Glasgow)
  • Swati Moitra (Gurudas College, University of Calcutta)
  • Cindy Nguyen (University of California)
  • Sara Elizabeth Danielle Celeste Penn (Simon Fraser University)


  • Purbasha Auddy (Jadavpur University)
  • Jesse Erickson (University of Delaware)
  • Mark Alan Mattes (University of Louisville)
  • Andrea Reyes Elizondo (Leiden University)
  • Hannah Yip (University of Birmingham)